Fanboy Friday: “I didn’t mean to be here – but I’m glad I was.”

This past Wednesday was the first UBC Slam of the new school year.  I could talk about the sixty sum people packed into Benny’s Bagels as I walked in.  Or I could talk about the brand new performers on the open mic and the slam.  Or the look on the faces of the execs of UBC Slam: Ivan Leonce, Heather Gunn, and Emma Saddy throughout the night (which can only be described as a mix of bliss, over stimulation, and appreciation).  Instead I’m drawn to a note which was rolled into a five dollar bill that found it’s way into the donation jar.

slam

I didn’t mean to be here…I stormed out of my house hell bent on getting drunk enough to dump my BF when I got home! Now I have laughed, cried, giggled, and my heart has broken again (but this time in sympathy for another). Thank you UBC Slam – I don’t know what I’ll do about my BF – I didn’t mean to be here – but I’m glad I was.

The note was easily the highlight of the night.  It sums up why we love words and the impact that they can have, spoken or written.  I can’t imagine what this person felt as they wrote this note, as they spilled out their feelings onto this piece of paper which would find an audience.  I’m not sure any other event would inspire such an action.  Inspire such courage.  Even though this person didn’t get on stage and let everything out, something on stage stirred them to act.

They laughed, cried, giggled, and had their heart broken again, but this time in sympathy for another. When we feel that is when we are most alive; when a chord is in our soul is struck, when our minds urge us to shout, and when our hearts wish to erupt, we must act.

The inspiration to act can come from anywhere.  Sometimes we create the optimal experience and anticipate it, while other times it hits us like lightning.  Like the person in this note, their method was liquid courage but they stumbled into something more.  Maybe they didn’t find all of the answers they were looking for on Wednesday, but I hope they left in a better place.

It is funny what words can do.  A line on a page, a chorus to a song, or your a favourite punchline.  When we need them most, there are always there.  A special message letting us know that everything will be okay.  It might not happen in five minutes or in three weeks but eventually it will.  You never know, you might surprise yourself.  Keep going.

It’s Like I Have ESPN or Something – Nicole

This is perfect.  It is exactly the motivation that drives anyone to write to do so.  It’s that magic stuff we all want, but is just do darn hard to find.  UBC Slam, you did special work the other night.  Major proudness is due.

Also, I can’t help but be snoopy – I wonder how this boyfriend business panned out?

Irving Chong (@Irving_Chong) and Nicole (@_nicoliooo) are co-creators of This is Why we Can’t Have Nice Things even though it doesn’t make sense why they’re friends.

One thought on “Fanboy Friday: “I didn’t mean to be here – but I’m glad I was.”

  1. We Aren’t Any Closer to Having Nice Things: 50 – This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

Leave a Reply

