Fanboy Friday: Indie Music Crushes for Fall

We’re back from our summer hiatus.  It wasn’t planned but it was sorely needed, details of why will be revealed on Monday.  Until then, here’s another installment of my indie music crushes for fall.  Over the summer I think I added over one hundred songs to my iPod.  From those new songs, five artists have stood out.  As with my first installment, every artist below is worth checking out. Plus, they’re gorgeous which never hurts.  I will be doing a concise overview of each because you should seriously go listen to them after you’re done reading this post.  And don’t worry about doing a Google image search of them, this is what BANKS, LIZ, Foxes, and Nylo look like.

BANKS

Three things which come to mind when I think about Banks: Her voice is hypnotic and seems to be able to fit any beat. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t see her in concert when she opened for The Weeknd. I need more black and white GIF’s of her in my life.

The perfect time to listen to her is: Anytime after sunset is appropriate. Her voice is haunting.

The first song I heard was: Before I Ever Met You

My favourite song by her is: Warm Water (Chuck Wild Bootleg Remix)

LIZ

Three things which come to mind when I think about LIZ: A girl who rocks jerseys, snap backs, and Nikes? Sign me up. She is the only blonde girl on this list. I’m not sure I can compete with her level of swag.

The perfect time to listen to her is: Driving around on a sunny day with the windows down.

The first song I heard was: Horoscope

My favourite song by her is: Horoscope

Foxes

Three things which come to mind when I think about Foxes: Can we appreciate that her background on her Twitter page is a bunch of pancakes.  She adds a much needed pop component to my iPod. If she was in my life, my life would be instantly more fun and silly.

The perfect time to listen to her is: Any summer day while chilling on a patio with a few drinks and plenty more friends.

The first song I heard was: Youth

My favourite song by her is: Echo (FIXYN Remix)

Lorde

Three things which come to mind when I think about Lorde: How is she only sixteen? Seriously how? Go listen to her and tell me how she’s sixteen. I almost feel as bad as I do when I think about how old Kyrie Irving is.

The perfect time to listen to her is: There is never a bad time to listen to Lorde. Press play and enjoy.

The first song I heard was: The Love Club

My favourite song by her is: Royals The Weeknd Remix

Nylo

Three things which come to mind when I think about Nylo: Another gorgeous R&B singer from Chicago, really you shouldn’t have. She’s proof that you can fall in love with someone after browsing their Tumblr. Go download INDIGO SUMMER right now.

The perfect time to listen to her is: After a break up and/or during sex.

The first song I heard was: Take it Back

My favourite song by her is: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Bonus: Meg Myers

Meg was featured in my last installment of music crushes and I said I’d marry her yesterday if given the chance.  This hasn’t changed.  This past week she released a new song called “Desire.”  After multiple listens the word which comes to mind is: visceral.  Her lyrics cut your soul like razor blades and her voice – that voice – is passion unleashed.  If you need me I’ll be on the floor still from swooning.

It’s Like I Have ESPN or Something – Nicole

Can we discuss how Irving opens this post by showing us pictures of his iPod girlfriends?

What a boy.

Irving Chong (@Irving_Chong) and Nicole (@_nicoliooo) are co-creators of This is Why we Can’t Have Nice Things even though it doesn’t make sense why they’re friends

2 thoughts on “Fanboy Friday: Indie Music Crushes for Fall

  1. We Aren’t Any Closer to Having Nice Things: 50 – This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

  2. Fanboy Friday: Pure Heroines, Music Crushes, and Yes, Mr. West – This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

Leave a Reply

