Fanboy Friday: Indie Music Crushes of the New Year

I feel like I am drowning people with all the comic book talk.  To take a break I thought I would introduce people to my indie music crushes of the new year.  Quick note, I’m about three steps away from being a full blown music snob.  I’m picky with three things in life: clothes, girls, and music.  If you checked out my iPod you’d quickly realize it was a mix of hip-hop/rap/R&B/indie music.  There are plenty of girls who rep the indie section.  Of my recent additions to my iPod three girls stand out, their songs are worth diving into plus they’re gorgeous.  I will be doing a concise overview of each because you should seriously go listen to them after you’re done reading this post.  And don’t worry about doing a Google image search of them, this is what Njomza, Mr. Little Jeans, and Meg Myers look like.  So after you love them as well, just remember I called dibs.

Njomza

Three things which come to mind when I think about Njomza:  Girl version of The Weeknd.  Her twitter is the perfect balance of updates/fan interactions/stuff from her personal life.  She would be a bad influence if she was a part of my life, not necessarily a bad thing.

The perfect time to listen to her is:  While having sex or enjoying a glass of wine in candle light while rolling a joint.

The first song I heard was:  High.

My favourite song by her is:  Someone Like You Freestyle

Mr. Little Jeans

Three things which come to mind when I think about Mr. Little Jeans:  Adds a pop component to my music diet.  Her songs are fantastic to remix.  I will have spontaneous dance parties to her songs in the summer.

The perfect time to listen to her is:  On a summer drive with your windows down with people who are willing to sing-a-long.

The first song I heard was:  The Suburbs Cover

My favourite song by her is:  Angel RAC Remix

Meg Myers

Three things which come to mind when I think about Meg Myers:  I don’t have Instagram but I would get it just to follow her.  Her voice doesn’t match her face, it’s booming.  I would marry her yesterday.

The perfect time to listen to her is:  After a break up, or feeling burned from unrequited love.

The first song I heard was:  Monster

My favourite song by her is:  Curbstomp

It’s Like I Have ESPN or Something – Nicole

Can we all acknowledge that Irving tagged this post “Girls”?  Let’s just sit with that for a moment.

Then walk over and kick him in the shin.

Irving Chong (@Irving_Chong) and Nicole (@_nicoliooo) are co-creators of This is Why we Can’t Have Nice Things even though it doesn’t make sense why they’re friends.

4 thoughts on “Fanboy Friday: Indie Music Crushes of the New Year

  1. The 20/20 Playlist | This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

  2. Fanboy Friday: Indie Music Crushes for Fall – This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

  3. We Aren’t Any Closer to Having Nice Things: 50 – This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

  4. Fanboy Friday: Pure Heroines, Music Crushes, and Yes, Mr. West – This is Why we Can't Have Nice Things

Leave a Reply

